National Standards for Community Engagement

The National Standards for Community Engagement are good-practice principles designed to improve and guide the process of community engagement.

Community engagement is a way to build and sustain relationships between public services and community groups - helping them both to understand and take action on the needs or issues that communities experiences.

There are 7 Standards:

  • Inclusion

  • Support

  • Planning

  • Working together

  • Methods

  • Communication

  • Impact

You can find out more about the National Standards on the VOICE website or download a PDF version here.